New Veterinary Technician Specialties Recognized By NAVTA

September/October 2009 California Veterinarian

RVT News

The National Association of Veterinary Technicians in America (NAVTA) recently announced three new specialty academies for their members.

“The NAVTA Academies give veterinary technicians recognition for having advanced education, training and experience in an area of specialization,” stated Amy Butzier, CVT, Chair of the NAVTA Committee on Veterinary Technician Specialties (CVTS).

In addition to their existing specialties in dentistry, anesthesia, internal medicine, emergency and critical care, and behavior, the NAVTA CVTS announced these newest specialties:

  • Neurology sub-specialty of the Academy of Internal Medicine Veterinary Technicians (AIMVT), joining the other sub-specialties in small animal medicine, large animal medicine, cardiology and oncology.
  • Academy of Veterinary Zoological Medicine Technicians, which was organized by a highly regarded group of professionals to establish a high quality pool of specialized technicians within their area of expertise.
  • Academy of Equine Veterinary Nursing Technicians, created to meet the needs of the equine veterinary community and to ensure the highest level of competency in its members.

For more information about NAVTA and the veterinary technician specialties, visit

The NAVTA Committee on Veterinary Technicians Specialties was formed in 1994 and is recognized by the American Veterinary Medical Association. The committee provides guidelines to veterinary technician organizations to facilitate the formation of a specialty. Academies develop advanced pathways which a candidate must follow and complete in order to be awarded the designation of VTS (Veterinary Technician Specialist) in their specific discipline.

The credentialing process for veterinary technician specialists is challenging and has many requirements, including demonstrating advanced skills and knowledge under the supervision of board certified veterinarians or other specialists, taking continuing education classes, having a specified work experience, submitting case logs and case reports, and passing written exams.

Veterinary technician specialties are recognized as Academies by NAVTA. NAVTA’s CVTS is the governing body for granting specialty status. CVTS has developed guidelines to assist groups petitioning NAVTA for specialty recognition and has been recognized by the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) as the body to oversee the development of veterinary technician Academies.

The National Association of Veterinary Technicians in America is a nonprofit organization that represents and promotes the profession of Veterinary Technology. NAVTA provides direction, education, support and coordination for its members. Incorporated in 1981, NAVTA is the national organization devoted exclusively to developing and enhancing the profession of veterinary technology.


Photo caption: Representatives from the new NAVTA Veterinary Technician Specialties announced at the AVMA Conference on Monday (left to right): Deborah Reeder, RVT (equine specialty); Amy Butzier, CVT (CVTS Chair and equine specialty); Bonnie Soule, CVT (zoological specialty); Sharon Kaiser-Klingler, RVT (equine specialty); and Linda Merrill, LVT (AIMVT-Neurology).

© 2019 California Veterinary Medical Association

New Member Benefit!

GlobalVetLINK (GVL) is a web-based provider of electronic prescriptions, health certificates, feed directives, and other useful products to help veterinary...


CVMA Member Mobile App

With the new CVMA mobile app, members can access instant legislative updates, CE offerings, regulatory information, and more! Read More...

Join the CVMA

As a CVMA member, you’ll have access to outstanding benefits and services.

View the benefits of membership »