Resources

Wellness Program Professional Resources List

Alcohol Abuse Help:

AA (Alcoholics Anonymous): An online help resource www.alcoholics-anonymous.org or call 800-371-1475

Al-Anon: A resource for those involved with someone addicted to drugs or alcohol. Call: 800-356-9996

Alcohol Help Line National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence (NCADD) Inc – 559-688-2994 – 525 E Bardsley Ave, Tulare, CA 93274 – https://www.ncadd.org/get-help

IDAA: International Doctors in Alcoholics Anonymous: www.idaa.org/; email: idaadickmc@aol.com

Kaiser Employees Assistance Professional (EAP) Service Line: 877-804-9753, Kaiser program members only

Moderation Management http://www.moderation.org/

Substance Abuse Help:

California Self-Help Center: 800-222-5465

California Network of Treatment Resources (CALNET): Referral information only, call 800-367-8336 (Action)

Celebrate Recovery – http://www.celebraterecovery.com/

Cocaine Helpline: 800-527-5344 (800 COCAINE)

Drug Abuse Information and Treatment Referral Hotline (NIDA Hotline): 800-662-4357 (800-662-HELP)

Employee Assistance Professionals Association (EAPA): Trained to help employers with on the job problems. 703-522-6272

LifeRing Secular Recovery – http://lifering.org/

NA: Narcotics Anonymous: Help for drug problems www.na.org

Rational Recovery – https://rational.org/index.php?id=1

Secular Organizations for Sobriety – http://www.sossobriety.org/

SMART Recovery – http://www.smartrecovery.org/

Veterinary Medical Board Maximus Diversion Program: http://www.vmb.ca.gov/forms_pubs/div_brochure.pdf

Women For Sobriety, Inc. – http://www.womenforsobriety.org/beta2/

Mental Wellness / Compassion Fatigue / Suicide Prevention:

AVMA:

Wellness & Peer Assistance
Access Your Wellness

Family Doctor: www.familydoctor.org

Not One More Vet: www.nomv.org

Sutter/California Health Systems Crisis Line: 415-696-5900 (access 25 hospitals)

Suicide Prevention: www.helpguide.org/mental/suicide_prevention.htm

Vets4Vets (confidential support group for veterinarians): http://www.vinfoundation.org/default.aspx?pid=8194&catId=78987&id=7514810

Wellness Web: www.wellweb.com

General Health Questions:

The following web pages are for information only.

Mayo Clinic: www.mayohealth.org

American Heart Association: www.amhrt.org

Health Finder: www.healthfinder.gov

On Health: www.onhealth.com

Other Resources:

Faces and Voices of Recovery mutual aid group directory – covers 12-Step, Alcohol, Co-occurring Health Conditions, Faith-Based, Family- and Friend-Focused, Gender-Specific, Medication-Assisted, Secular, and Youth-Focused categories: http://facesandvoicesofrecovery.org/resources/mutual-aid-resources/

Faces and Voices of Recovery Resource Library: http://facesandvoicesofrecovery.org/resources/resourcelibrary.html

Thrive in Five – Toolkit for Success – steps to help new veterinary school graduates: http://www.vinfoundation.org/default.aspx?pid=8194&id=7693568

© 2018 California Veterinary Medical Association

Registration Open for the Pacific Veterinary Conference June 21-24, 2019!

Join us for the Pacific Veterinary Conference in sunny Long Beach, CA! Enjoy shopping, dining, entertainment, and...

Read More...

Wildfire Reimbursement

The California Veterinary Medical Foundation (CVMF) is accepting reimbursement requests from veterinarians with out-of-pocket emergency medical care...

Read More...

Join the CVMA

As a CVMA member, you’ll have access to outstanding benefits and services.

View the benefits of membership »