Minutes

Sunday, January 21, 2024 House of Delegates Meeting

I. Call to Order/Roll Call – The meeting was called to order by CVMA House Chair, Dr. Laura Weatherford at 8:30 a.m. The following were present:

Dr. Laura Weatherford
Dr. Eleanor Dunn
Dr. Ashley McCaughan
Dr. Michael Manno
Dr. Julian Castaneda
Dr. Cheryl Waterhouse
Dr. Heather Moore

Chair, House of Delegates
Alameda County VMA
CA Equine VMA
CA Lab Animal VMA
Central California VMA
Contra Costa County VMA

Dr. Samantha Vu Delta VMA

Dr. Kathleen Olson Marin County VMA
Dr. Chris Shacoski Napa-Solano VMA

Dr. Cathy Wallace Northern San Joaquin VMA
Dr. Carley Jones Redwood Empire VMA

Marie Ussery, RVT
Leah Shufelt, RVT
Bryson Plater, RVT
Laressa Dimalanta, RVT
Sharon Burns, RVT
RVT Delegation
RVT Delegation
RVT Delegation
RVT Delegation
RVT Delegation

Teri Adamson, RVT RVT Delegation
Dr. Ken Pawlowski Sacramento Valley VMA

Dr. Chris Wong

Dr. Kristina Netherwood

Dr. Miguel Constantino

Dr. Leeigan Ma

San Diego County VMA

San Diego County VMA

Dr. Leejoan Ma San Diego County VMA
Dr. Rebecca Nostrand San Diego County VMA

Dr. Christina Sisk
Dr. Cristie Kamiya
Dr. Georgina Marquez
Dr. Evelyn Sagastume
Santa Barbara-Ventura VMA
Santa Clara Valley VMA
Southern California VMA
Southern California VMA

Dr. Evelyn Sagastume
Dr. Maggie Gamble
Dr. Joann Sohn
Dr. Nicole Hui
Dr. Adam Gerstein
Dr. Carissa Jones
Dr. Evelyn Sagastume
Southern California VMA

Quinn Linfield UC Davis Student Delegation
Katelyn Morita UC Davis Student Delegation
Samantha Rosander Western University Student Delegation

Gabriela Gonzalez

Western University Student Delegation
Elizabeth Aulner

Western University Student Delegation

Dr. Gagandeep Kaur Western University VMA
Dr. Kevin Ellis Western University VMA

Delegates not present:

Dr. George Dyck
Dr. Diana Bauer
CA Lab Animal VMA
Dr. Leslie Sklena
CA Shelter VMA
Dr. Guntej Grewal
CA Central California VMA

Dr. Louisa Asseo

Dr. Risa Barrett-Allison

Dr. Suzanne Lee

Contra Costa County VMA

Contra Costa County VMA

Contra Costa County VMA

Dr. Jenny Wu Delta VMA

Dr. Kathleen Olson Marin County VMA
Dr. Ben Otten Marin County VMA
Dr. Louisa Cammidge Mid-Coast VMA

Dr. Audra Stepp Northern San Joaquin VMA

Dr. Chris Cowing Peninsula VMA
Heather Ryan, RVT RVT Delegation
Jo Woodison, RVT RVT Delegation

Dr. Linzey Perez
Dr. Nicole Mora
Sacramento Valley VMA
Sacramento Valley VMA
San Diego County VMA
Dr. Joe Fong
San Francisco VMA

Dr. Joseph Raleigh Santa Barbara-Ventura VMA Santa Clara Valley VMA Dr. Jeni Goedken Southern California VMA Dr. Raymond De Villa Dr. Karla Nichols Southern California VMA Dr. Megan Nowell Southern California VMA Southern California VMA Dr. Susan Sanchez Dr. Tricia Nguven Southern California VMA Southern California VMA Dr. Brittin Ross Southern California VMA Dr. Laura Bradley Dr. Karryssa Fenderson Southern California VMA Alexis McBride **UC Davis Student Delegation** Sarah Meil UC Davis Student Delegation Angel Klawiter UC Davis Student Delegation Rachel Formaker UC Davis Student Delegation Nicole Lent Western U Student Delegation Jennifer Resnick Western U Student Delegation Vanessa Chavez Western U Student Delegation

Staff: Dr. Grant Miller, CVMA Director of Regulatory Affairs
Kristen Calderon, CVMA Director of Membership Services

II. Motions

M.S.P: To approve meeting minutes from the June 9, 2023 House of Delegates meeting.

M.S.P: To request that the Board of Governors:

- 1) Direct the CVMA to provide and promote to the profession the introduction and implementation of artificial intelligence and to seek legislative and regulatory means to regulate artificial intelligence in veterinary medicine.
- 2) For the CVMA to work with the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) to pursue legislative and regulatory change at the federal level to regulate artificial intelligence in veterinary medicine.
- 3) To direct the CVMA Animal Welfare Committee to create a policy on artificial intelligence in veterinary medicine.

Dr. Laura Weatherford House Chair

Dr. Grant Miller HOD Staff Liaison